Now Playing: Dream Theater – Distance Over Time

Dream Theater’s fourteenth studio album “Distance Over Time” is officially released on Friday, February 22, 2019.

The album clocks in under 1 hour, without bonus track “Viper King”.

“Room 137” lyric was written by Mike Mangini , which is a first for Dream Theater.

After the first listen of the album in its entirety, not counting the first three songs (“Untethered Angel”, Paralyzed”, and “Fall into the Light”) which were made available prior to the album release; “At Wit’s End” and “Viper King” stand out.

I need to listen to this album a lot more time to form any further opinion.

Blue Rondo à la Turk

The Dave Brubeck Quartet Time Out.jpg

Blue Rondo à la Turk (iTunes | Amazon) is a magnificent track by off Time Out, by the Dave Brubeck Quartet.

Blue Rondo à La Turk (Live) on Youtube

Two standout covers of this song:

  • Al Jarreau – “Breakin’ Away” album (iTunes | Amazon)
    (Round, Round, Round) Blue Rondo à la Turk
  • Paul Gilbert – “Vibrato” album (iTunes | Amazon)
    Blue Rondo a La Turk

P.S.: The Dave Brubeck Quartet influence is pretty prominent in Dream Theater’s repertoire.

Dream Theater: “Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Pt. 2” is Available on Amazon and iTunes

Dream Theater’s fifth cover song, “Larks Tongue In Aspic Pt. 2” is now available for download on Amazon MP3 Store and iTunes Store.

The six cover songs included in Dream Theater’s “Black Clouds & Silver Linings” special edition CD set.

  1. “Stargazer” – Rainbow
  2. “Tenement Funster/Flick of the Wrist/Lily of the Valley” – Queen
  3. “Odyssey” – Dixie Dregs
  4. “Take Your Fingers From My Hair” – Zebra
  5. “Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Pt. 2” – King Crimson
  6. “To Tame A Land” – Iron Maiden

Get it from:

“Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Pt. 2” originally appeared on King Crimson’s 1973 Album “Larks’ Tongues In Aspic”

Dream Theater, King Crimson, Lark's Tongue Pt. 2


“Black Clouds & Silver Linings” | June 23rd, 2009

01. A Nightmare to Remember
02. A Rite of Passage
03. Wither
04. The Shattered Fortress
05. The Best of Times
06. The Count of Tuscany

“Black Clouds & Silver Linings” is available on:

Click the artwork above for the hi-res version of the cover art.

Image courtesy of Dream Theater and Roadrunner Records.